Eyes on the future

We are all used to planning for things. Maybe a long-awaited vacation, or rewarding yourself for accomplishing something big with, let’s say, a new car. We don’t have trouble visualizing that kind of waiting but when it comes to eternal things it is harder for us to imagine things. I guess the reason is that we don’t know anyone that has come back for heaven and said, “Wow, it was great! You have to go!”

We hear from people that have gone on vacations to Europe or the Grand Canyon and they tell us what to see and how great it was but heaven is much more difficult to quantify.

The Apostle Paul knew about as much about eternity as anyone and he made an amazing statement. “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God.” (Rom. 8:18-19)

We don’t quite know what eternity is about but we know that it is better. I am looking past this life to eternity. In fact that helps me look past this procedure to the improved life on the other side of stem cell translate. God is still here with me, even though I don’t like it here. He is here.

As a side note, it was great to Skype into my congregation today. It lifted me up. I have a wonderful congregation and they encouraged me so much. Pastor Bob

This entry was posted in Body of Christ, Cancer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment